Birthday Debauchery

In the immortal words of Fiona Apple, I’ve been a bad, bad girl… I celebrated my birthday last week, which started a string of weekend cheats. First, I had to have my favorite chinese restaurant, and I had to order my favorite meal (Honey Walnut Shrimp from Rainbow).  The name alone doesn’t sound too bad, but I’m sure it is loaded with extra sugar, and the shrimp is battered in what I assume is a flour mix.  Oops.  Not to mention the cream cheese/peanut butter wonton appetizers.  Yes, let’s just say the entire meal was a paleo fail; however I ate well all day to prepare for my debauchery, and I’ll admit that the super full feeling I had at the end of the meal was enough to remind me why I am making the eating shift I have been making.

ImageThe rest of the weekend I managed to make pretty decent choices (including a Mexican dinner consisting of fajitas with no shells, but not including the slice of Diablo flourless chocolate cake – hey, at least it was flourless); then I decided to experiment with making some paleo margaritas, which may have been a mistake.  Tequila made from 100% Agave is agreed upon by many paleo participants as a drink of choice, because no grain is used in its production (http://www.paleoplan.com/2011/09-01/alcohol-and-paleo/).  So, as a recovering margarita lover, I had to do some experimenting… and I came up with a great blended combination consisting of tequila, Trader Joe’s sparkling lime mineral water, a little lime juice, and strawberries.  Truth be told, the tequila with some sparkling lime water alone wasn’t too bad either.  So, maybe it is technically paleo, but I probably didn’t need to have as many as I did.  Enough said.

Although my cheating could have been a lot worse, I’m feeling like I didn’t really make a dent in my weight loss over the last 4-5 days.  The good thing is that I’m aware of the mistakes I make along the way, rather than just ignoring my bad choices like I’ve done in the past.  I think being aware of what you are putting into your body is a step to success in itself.  And cheating is ok, as long as you get yourself back on track, which is exactly what I’m doing today!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About folkgirl1

I'm a free spirit, hippie chick at heart. I dig music and making a happier world. I'm learning to live healthy, and I like to share!

Leave a Reply

