Getting Started

Hi.  I’m Stacey.  I never imagined starting a blog about healthy living  (and that isn’t necessarily all that I will be sharing); however I made a turn in my life a little over a week ago, and I feel inspired to write about it.  In a nutshell, I’ve always been a “curvy” gal, but recently I hit a point when I looked in the mirror and thought “Enough is enough!”  I’m fat, and I don’t like it.  I’m in my not so mid-thirties, and if I’m ever going to be healthy, this is a good time to start.  Upon the recommendation of a friend, I watched a documentary called The Perfect Human Diet, which focused on the evidence behind eating on a Paleolithic diet plan.  Something clicked.  Of course our bodies are biologically wired to eat animals and plants.  It’s what we’ve been doing for 20,000 years, and how humans have evolved.  So, it only makes sense that obesity became a big problem when we started incorporating grains, processed sugars, and such into our diets within the last 100 years.  Our bodies weren’t built to eat this way.  Duh.

Consequently, the very next day I made the decision to eat Paleo style.  This was a week ago.  I told myself I would start with a 30-day commitment, and see where it goes from there.  I have to admit, the first couple of days were rough.  I had a constant headache from the caffeine and sugar reduction.  I was crabby and hungry, because I didn’t prepare for meals in advance.  I didn’t falter though, because I had made myself a commitment.  And wouldn’t you know it, by the 4th day, the headache was gone, and I was starting to feel pretty fantastic.  It’s amazing how good you can feel when you aren’t overstuffing yourself with crap.  In fact, food has been tasting even better than it did, because I was actually tasting it, rather than covering it up with sauce, cheese, sugar, etc.  After getting inspiration from some other Paleo bloggers and pinners (on Pinterest), I’m thrilled to be creating simple meals from delicious food that nature intended.

Image

A delicious paleo friendly ratatouille!

Have I been eating perfectly according to the Paleo plan?  Well, not exactly, but I’m pretty damn close.  I still have coffee in the morning (usually an Americano with a little almond milk and ½ a packet of sugar in the raw).  Nobody wants to know me without my morning coffee, and some Paleo peeps say it isn’t technically cheating to consume naturally occurring caffeine.  Well, I doubt any cavemen were enjoying a morning cup of joe, but I allow myself this pleasure/routine.  I’ve replaced diet coke with La Croix (cavemen probably didn’t drink carbonated water either, but with zero calories and no sweetener, I figure it can’t hurt).  After my initial 30 days, I plan on allowing myself a little dark chocolate and red wine, too.  Because hey, I have to have a little fun, right?

So, there you go.  If you want to follow along on my journey, feel free.  I will definitely be blogging about other interests in my life, but the focus of this blog will be on creating a healthy, happy, new me!  And away we go…

Image

Goodbye fat girl!

Tags: , , ,

About folkgirl1

I'm a free spirit, hippie chick at heart. I dig music and making a happier world. I'm learning to live healthy, and I like to share!

4 responses to “Getting Started”

  1. Clare Brumback says :

    Good for you! I am in your “virtual” corner!

  2. ksilversmith says :

    I’m just starting out on a paleo life myself – good luck to you! I love reading other people’s blogs for support and inspiration. x

  3. Anne says :

    good for you!! I love paleo!!

  4. Virginie says :

    You should be proud Stacey! I like your blog and will keep looking at your adventure! xx

Leave a Reply

